What Brands of Maple Syrup Are Vegan? (2022) | [Full List]

From cafes to stores veganism has slowly been gaining steam in Japan. On Koenji’s main street, vegan and vegetarian restaurants such as Cafe Fifteen and the very popular Dohtonbori have opened recently, probably to meet the needs of those around the area who are vegan or vegetarian.

There is a feeling that people think differently about veganism now compared with even five years ago. A century ago, veganism was an advanced social movement deriving from the counterculture but it has slowly been integrated into society since then.

Today, more people are becoming vegan or vegetarian for health reasons rather than environmental or moral concerns. However, there are still many people who have kept away from veganism due to a lack of information or misinformation/prejudice spread on the internet.

Now many famous brands are supporting veganism. From Oreo to Zao, more and more Japanese companies are introducing vegan products or including vegan options on their menus.

Continue Reading: Are Sparling Ice Drinks Vegan? [Answer] | Full Information

What Brands of Maple Syrup are Vegan?

Maple syrup is made from the sap of maple trees. The sap is boiled down to make maple syrup. Some brands of maple syrup are vegan but others are not.

Some common brands which are not vegan include Coombs, Gaulden, and Mrs. Butterworth. These all contain animal products in the ingredients, making them unsuitable for vegans.

Some brands of maple syrup that are vegan include Maple Crest and Shady Maple Farms. These brands do not contain any animal products in the ingredients.

Maple syrup is often considered a vegan alternative to honey. But while maple syrup is vegan, it still contains high amounts of sugar so while fine in moderation, care must be taken with its quantity.

Vegan Maple Syrup Brands:

Log Cabin Maple Syrup (All-Natural, Light, Original, and Sugar-Free)

It was founded by J.P. Patches and is a brand of syrup with a nostalgic feel, in part due to its association with cowboy culture. It tastes less sweet than other brands which contain high fructose corn syrup and artificial flavors such as Mrs. Butterworth’s or Log Cabin’s own Sugar-Free Maple Syrup (which contains maltitol).

Mrs. Buttersworth (Light, Original, and Sugar-Free)

It was founded by Benjamin C. Buttersworth in 1865 and is the oldest brand of syrup. It contains high fructose corn syrup, artificial flavors, and caramel color. The Light version does not contain sugar but instead uses sucralose as a sweetener which can leave an aftertaste.

Aunt Jemima (Original, Sugar-Free, Light, Butter, Butter-Lite, Country Rich)

It was founded by Chris Rutt and Charles Underwood in 1889. The original version uses high fructose corn syrup, artificial flavors, caramel color, and preservatives. The Light version does not contain sugar but instead uses sucralose as a sweetener which can leave an aftertaste.

Related post: Are Hot Cheetos Vegan? [2022] | Full Information

Hungry Jack (Original, Sugar-Free, Light, Butter, Cinnamon Brown-Sugar)

It was founded dd by Jack C. Daugherty in 1960 and is a brand of syrup with a light buttery flavor. The original version uses high fructose corn syrup, artificial flavors, caramel color, and preservatives. The Light version does not contain sugar but instead uses sucralose as a sweetener which can leave an aftertaste.

H-E-B/Kroger Generic Maple Syrup (Original/Sugar-Free)

It was founded by Claude M. Sather in 1901 and is a brand of syrup with a somewhat bitter taste which makes it ideal for baking. The original version uses beet sugar and the Sugar-Free version uses sorbitol as sweeteners.

Great Value (Walmart) Pure Maple Syrup

It was founded by Julius Sterling and is a brand of syrup with a unique woodsy flavor.

Abbie’s Pancake Syrup (Classic)

It was founded by Abigail May Alcott in 1993 and is a brand of syrup with a strong maple flavor.

Maple Grove Farms Syrup’s (All Maple Syrups and Pancake Syrups)

It was founded by Harry and Elizabeth Burt in 1901 and is a brand of syrup with a strong maple flavor.

Butternut Mountain Farm’s Syrup’s

It was founded by Kate and Dave McKay in 2002 and is a brand of syrup with a strong maple flavor.

Eggo Syrup (Original)

It was founded by Lawrence W. Benfield Jr. in 1941 and is a brand of syrup with a strong maple flavor.

Kirkland Maple Syrup (Original)

It was founded by Louis E. D’Aigle in 1970 and is a brand of syrup made from Quebec maple trees.

Wholesome Maple Syrup (All Varieties)

It was founded by Fred N. Derpak in 1940 and is a brand of syrup with a strong maple flavor.

What Could Make A Maple Syrup Non-Vegan?

For a maple syrup to be vegan, it must not contain any animal ingredients. If the label contains words such as Bone char, bone black, charcoal (bone), natural flavoring (could include beef or pork) then it is not vegan.

In addition to this, maple syrup can also be non-vegan if it contains any other animal products e.g. milk fat, etc.

Also Read: Vegan Options at WingStop (2022) | 19+ Options

Frequently Asked Questions

Are all types of maple syrup vegan?

A: No. The lighter colors (golden, etc) are usually less processed and contain fewer chemicals than darker colored syrups (grade B). But both could be vegan depending on the brand. Darker maple syrup tends to have a more robust flavor compared with light maple syrup.

Is maple syrup a good vegan alternative to honey?

A: No. Although both are made from plants, while maple syrup is mostly sugar and can have some antioxidant properties, it still contains high amounts of sugar. Maple syrup should be used in moderation like any other sweetener. On the other hand, honey is much higher in nutrients, antioxidants, etc.

Are there any maple syrup brands that are more suitable for vegans?

A: Yes. The lighter colors (golden, etc) of maple syrup tend to be vegan as they’re more highly processed and contain fewer chemicals than darker colored syrups (grade B). But both could be vegan depending on the brand. Darker maple syrup tends to have a more robust flavor compared with light maple syrup.

Read More: Vegan Options at Little Caesars (2022) | 30+ Options

Conclusion

Veganism is growing in popularity and many of you might be interested in trying it out. Companies are realizing this trend and creating more products for vegans or including vegan options on their menus. There are still some brands that are not suitable for vegans, but with time, more and more will become vegan-friendly.

Many companies might start producing vegan maple syrup, but Maple Crest is the first company to produce 100% pure and vegan maple syrups containing nothing even remotely animal-related. Any brand that wants to stay on top of the market will always be looking for new products or ideas so there is no telling how much time it will be before we see more vegan maple syrup brands.

Related Posts

Which Brands and Types Of Animal Crackers Are Vegan

Which Brands & Types Of Animal Crackers Are Vegan? | Full Answer (2022)

A vegan is a person who applies the vegan philosophy to their life. The vegan lifestyle consists of refusing to consume animal products, not using clothing or…

Fumaric Acid Vegan

What is Fumaric Acid And Is It Vegan or Not? (2022)

If you’re a vegan, then you’ve probably heard of fumaric acid. But what is it? Is it vegan? In this blog post, we will answer those questions…

Best Organic Vegan Protein Powders

Best Organic Vegan Protein Powders | Full List (2022)

Looking for a vegan protein powder that is organic and good for you? Look no further! In this blog post, we will discuss the 4 best organic…

Is Imperial Margarine Vegan or Not

Is Imperial Margarine Vegan or Not? | Complete Answer (2022)

If you are a vegan, you may be wondering if Imperial Margarine is vegan-friendly. Unfortunately, the answer to that question is no. Imperial Margarine contains dairy products,…

Is Malic Acid Vegan Friendly Or Not

Is Malic Acid Vegan-Friendly Or Not? | Complete Answer (2022)

Malic acid is an organic compound that is found in many fruits and vegetables. It has a sour taste and is used to add flavor to food….

Is IRN BRU Vegan or Not

Is IRN BRU Vegan or Not? | Compete Answer (2022)

We all know and love IRN BRU for its unique and delicious flavour. But what about those of us who are vegan? Can we enjoy this Scottish…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *