Are Mike And Ikes Vegan in 2023? [Detailed Answer]

Being vegan is about more than just not eating meat. Vegans do not eat, wear or use any animal products whatsoever. Some vegans also will not use animals for entertainment, sport, or experimentation, but this isn’t a mandatory part of veganism – you can still call yourself vegan if you are happy to carry out these actions. However, veganism and animal rights go hand in hand; veganism is a way of living that seeks to exclude all forms of exploitation and cruelty to animals for the benefit of humans. If you’re vegan, then you probably already know that some brands exploit animals by testing on them or paying third-world countries shitloads of money to buy their crap.

You may have heard of veganism before, especially if you are close to vegan friends or acquaintances. You may have even tried vegan food without really knowing it! But do you know where veganism came from? Who were the original vegan pioneers? And why vegan? All these questions and more will be answered in this article.

The term vegan was first coined in 1944 by Donald Watson, who was frustrated that there wasn’t an adequate word for vegan because he wanted to branch out veganism to the general public. He decided to use the first three and last two letters of ‘vegetarian’ (minus the g) since veganism is just vegetarianism without dairy or eggs.

Read More: Are Hot Cheetos Vegan? [2023] | Full Information

Mike And Ikes

MIKE AND IKES was founded in 1968 after the merger of two American candy companies, ‘Sunline Inc.’ and ‘The Ikes Candy Company’. The Mikes were a bunch of male skaters who wore sunglasses and wanted a tough name. They chose Mike as a surname since it sounded tougher than Smith or Jones. Ikes  derived from the word ‘Eskimos’ since the Mikes started to design their own Eskimo logo.

However, not all members of Mike and Ikes were male skaters. In 1973, a new character called Sugar Molly was added to the Mikes and Ikes line-up.

Unlike the other Mike and Ikes characters, Sugar Molly wasn’t an Eskimo. She was introduced at the height of their popularity, during what is now known as ‘The Blaxploitation Era’. This was a time in American culture when black civil rights were promoted by the media through, amongst other things, blaxploitation films.

Browse More On Relevant Stuff:   Are Gobstoppers Vegan? [2023] | Detailed Answer

Sugar Molly’s inclusion in MIKE AND IKES was an attempt to cash in on the popularity of Blaxploitation movies at the time. According to her original 1973 commercial, Sugar Molly is an Eskimo who was taken away from her family at a young age and forced to work for white people in the city.

Related Post: Vegan Options at Cracker Barrel (2023) | 35+ Options

Are Mike And Ikes Vegan?

Mike and Ikes are not vegan because they contain milk and eggs – two animal products vegans don’t eat, wear or use in any way.

The sugar used to make Mike and Ikes are sometimes refined using animal bone char, which makes it unsuitable for vegans.

What about other Mike and Ikes?

The company that manufactures Mike and Ikes is also responsible for manufacturing other famous American candy brands, such as SNICKERS® and TWIX®.

SNICKERS® contains milk chocolate, which is an animal product.

TWIX® has caramel in it, which is made using cow’s milk or cream – both of which are animal products.

Also Read: Vegan Options at Waffle House (2023) | 20+ Options

Frequently asked question

So are Mike and Ikes vegan?

NO, they are NOT vegan because they contain milk and eggs in their ingredients list. However, there is a chance that the sugar used to make MIKE AND IKES is refined using animal bone char if it’s not listed in their ingredients list. Sometimes manufacturers don’t state whether they use animal bone char when refining sugar, but the chances are high that they do.

What are animal bone char?

Animal bone char is produced by heating on bones of cattle and other animals to remove the whitish color imparted by the calcium. Bone-char refined sugar is used in many processed foods, including Mike and Ikes.

Read More: Are Uncrustables Vegan or Not? | [Detailed Answer]


The future of Mike and Ikes is unknown, and there is a possibility that they may not be vegan in the future. A lot of the ingredients used in Mike and Ikes are already changed, which is a sign that they may not be vegan very soon.

Activists have already started a petition to get rid of the animal bone-char from MIKE AND IKES’ sugar refining process.

As an avid food enthusiast and writer, I have always been passionate about exploring different cuisines and uncovering the stories behind me. With years of experience in the food industry, i've honed my skills in recipe development, food styling, and culinary writing. Through my blog articles on food guides, I aims to share my knowledge and love of food with others, providing insights on everything from local hidden gems to global culinary trends. Whether you're a seasoned foodie or just starting to explore the world of gastronomy, My articles are sure to inspire and delight your taste buds.

Related Posts

Are Uncrustables Vegan

Are Uncrustables Vegan or Not? | [Detailed Answer]

Vegan school-going students will rise in revolt when they come to know that their sandwich is being served with non-veg jelly. veganism is an environmental movement that…

Is NyQuil Vegan or Not

Is NyQuil Vegan or Not? – Complete Answer (2023)

If you’re like most people, you probably don’t think about whether NyQuil is vegan or not. After all, it’s just a medication, right? Turns out, there is…

Fumaric Acid Vegan

What is Fumaric Acid And Is It Vegan or Not? (2023)

If you’re a vegan, then you’ve probably heard of fumaric acid. But what is it? Is it vegan? In this blog post, we will answer those questions…

Is Pocky Vegan Friendly or Not

Is Pocky Vegan-Friendly or Not? | Complete Details (2023)

If you’re a vegan, you’ve probably been asked the question “Is Pocky vegan?” more times than you can count. And if you’re not a vegan, you’ve probably…

Nutella Alternatives

6 Favorite Vegan-Friendly Nutella Alternatives (2023)

Veganism has become increasingly popular in today’s culture. It’s no longer considered an ultra-extreme lifestyle choice for hippies but has instead become the norm for many people…

Best Organic Vegan Protein Powders

Best Organic Vegan Protein Powders | Full List (2023)

Looking for a vegan protein powder that is organic and good for you? Look no further! In this blog post, we will discuss the 4 best organic…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *