Is Vegan Food Always Halal? [Detailed Answer]

Veganism and Vegetarianism are on the rise. Many people have stopped buying anything with animal products including meat, cow ghee or butter, cheese, etc. They are often labeled “Ethical Vegans” or “Person who eats vegetables”, while others might think what they’re doing is just another diet fad.

But it’s not the case, many people worldwide have stopped consuming meat and dairy for various reasons including health concerns, environmental issues, economical factors, etc. They are either called “Vegetarians” or “Vegans”.

Related Post: What Brands of Maple Syrup Are Vegan? (2022) | [Full List]

Is Vegan/vegetarian Food Always Halal?

According to Islamic law, if an animal is alive and slaughtered according to the proper process it will make the meat halal. If one doesn’t consume this type of food, then their only natural alternative would be vegetables/grains/nuts which have no source of life within them. While it is true that these items are not considered to be meat, there’s a big chance that they might contain many other haram ingredients such as carrageenan gum and gelatin.

Many claim that Vanilla Extract is indeed Halal because it is made from Vanilla Beans or Vanilla Seeds, but this isn’t the case. Most vanilla extracts are not made with alcohol (ethanol) which is Halal; instead, they are made with non-Halal ingredients like propylene glycol or even worse, petroleum-based chemicals!

There’s also Coffee-Mate Original Creamer which contains NO animal products but uses a Halal-certified flavor, however, the main ingredient is glycerine which isn’t allowed in our diet.

Continue Reading: 6 Favorite Vegan-Friendly Nutella Alternatives (2022)

What about Vegetarian Food?

Well, some Vegetarians are extremely selective about their ingredients while others have no idea what they’re consuming. Many contain Honey, Gelatin, Lard/Tallow/Lardons which are all Haram.

The most important advice would be to always check the label of your food before consuming it even if it’s vegetarian or vegan. The ingredients list isn’t just written in English; you might need to read it in the original language and there might be other languages as well.

There’s also a big chance that your Vegetarian food contains Garlic and Onions which aren’t Halal.

Is Meat-Replacements Halal?

Many people have switched to a Vegetarian/Vegan diet and started eating meat replacements with soy, tofu, TVP, etc. These items are Halal but they might contain Lecithin which is taken from Eggs or Sesame Seeds which aren’t Halal.

The most important advice would be to always check the label of your food before consuming it even if it’s meat replacement. The ingredients list isn’t just written in English; you might need to read it in the original language and there might be other languages as well.

There’s also a big chance that your Vegetarian/Vegan food contains Lecithin which is derived from Eggs or Sesame Seeds which are not Halal.

Also Read: Vegan Options at Little Caesars (2022) | 30+ Options

Frequently Asked Question

I’ve read on the internet that TVP is made from Soy, so it’s Halal.

Unfortunately, everything isn’t as clear as you might have expected. Many products look like meat but they’re Vegetarian or Vegan food with lots of hidden ingredients inside them. You should always check the label of your food before consuming it.

It is not my intention to cause trouble but I’ve heard rumors that Vanilla Extract isn’t Halal, so I’m concerned about Vanilla Ice Cream which contains Vanilla Flavor or Vanilla Sugar-Coated Almonds which are both labeled as Halal.

We at Moderate Voice would like to assure you that Vanilla Extract is indeed Halal because it is made from Vanilla Beans or Vanilla Seeds. However, some flavored vanilla extracts are not made with alcohol (ethanol) but they are still not Halal because they contain propylene glycol or petroleum-based chemicals which are Haram.

Read More: Are Uncrustables Vegan or Not? | [Detailed Answer]

Conclusion

Vegans and Vegetarians have to take extra care in finding out if their food is indeed Halal or not!

Since there are many Haram ingredients in our diet, it’s no surprise Vegetarian/Vegan food isn’t always Halal although they aren’t considered to be meat. Always check the label of your food before consuming it even if you’re a Vegetarian/Vegan!

Related Posts

Is Sabra Hummus Vegan or Not

Is Sabra Hummus Vegan or Not? | Complete Answer (2022)

If you’re looking for a delicious, vegan-friendly dip, look no further than Sabra Hummus! Sabra is one of the most popular hummus brands on the market, and…

What is E124 and Is It Vegan?

What is E124 and Is It Vegan? | Complete Answer (2022)

E124 is additive is found in many different types of food and it is responsible for giving those foods a red or purple color. It has been…

Vegan Options at Cold Stone Creamery

Vegan Options at Cold Stone Creamery (2022) | 48+ Options

The global ice cream market is expected to surpass $55 billion by 2020 (Statista). This growth will be due in part to the demand for more premium…

What Flavors of Fruittella Chews are Vegan

What Flavors of Fruittella Chews are Vegan? | All Flavors List (2022)

When you think of fruit, you might think of healthy snacks like apples or grapes. But what about when you want something a little sweeter and softer?…

What Flavors Of Marmite Are Vegan

What Flavors Of Marmite Are Vegan? | Complete Answer (2022)

Marmite is a savory spread made from yeast extract, a by-product of beer brewing. It is a sticky, brown paste with a strong, pungent flavor that is…

What Brands of Tostadas are Vegan?

What Brands of Tostadas are Vegan? | Complete Answer (2022)

Tostadas are a Mexican dish that consists of a fried or toasted tortilla that is topped with various ingredients. Tostadas can be made with a variety of…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *